Strong Line-up for Golden Orange’s International Competition

The 56th Antalya Golden Orange Film Festival has unveiled its official selection for this year’s international competition. The line-up comprises 10 titles from countries as various as Belgium, Brazil, Croatia, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Iran, Japan, Lebanon, Norway, Qatar, Rwanda, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden and Tunisia. The films will be competing in the Best Film and Best Director categories for total prize money worth close to TL 100 thousand.

Wolfgang Becker to Head Jury
This year’s International Feature Film Competition Jury will be chaired by the German writer-director, Wolfgang Becker. Becker made his directorial debut in 1988 with Butterflies (Schmetterlinge), which won the Golden Leopard at Locarno. He followed up this early success with the award-winning Child’s Play (Kinderspiele) in 1992 and in 1997 with Life Is All You Get, which picked up the Special Jury Prize at Berlin. Six years later, he earned international acclaim for Good Bye Lenin! (2003), which was nominated for numerous awards, including a Golden Globe, and won Best European Film of the Year at the Goya and César Awards, as well as the Audience Award at the European Film Awards. Most recently, he ended a 12-year hiatus with Me and Kaminski, a comedy co-starring Daniel Brühl, Jesper Christensen, Denis Lavant and Geraldine Chaplin. This will be the first time the long-time director is hosted in Turkey.

Wolfgang Becker is joined on the jury by four more international names from the world of film: Rúnar Rúnarsson, Johanna ter Steege, Ewa Puszczynska and Jay Jeon. Now recognized as one of Iceland’s leading independent filmmakers, the writer-director, Rúnar Rúnarsson, directed his first feature, Volcano, in 2011. His follow-up, Sparrows (2015), was in the Official Selection at Cannes and picked up awards at San Sebastián, Thessaloniki and Warsaw Film Festivals, while his latest picture, Echo, left Locarno this year with the Youth Jury Award. The remarkable Dutch actress, Johanna ter Steege, is known above all for her memorable performances in the István Szabó classic, Dear Emma, Sweet Böbe (Édes Emma, drága Böbe, 1992), Robert Altman’s Vincent & Theo (1990), Szabó’s Meeting Venus (1991) and Bernard Rose’s Immortal Beloved (1994). Ewa Puszczynska of Poland has produced numerous films, among them Pawel Pawlikowski’s Oscar-winning masterpiece, Ida (2013), and most recently, the Oscar nominated Cold War (2018). And Jay Jeon, currently director of the Busan Film Festival, is effectively an overseas ambassador for South Korean cinema in his capacity as a producer and film critic.

Turkish Premieres in Antalya
The competition films not only promise Antalya film buffs the chance to watch the latest crop of award-winning talent all at once, but they will also be shown for the first time in Turkey at the 56th Antalya Golden Orange Film Festival.

The full competition line-up has been announced as follows:

A Son, dir. Mehdi Barsaoui
Beware of Children, dir. Dag J. Haugerud
Castle of Dreams, dir. Reza Mirkarimi
Let There Be Light, dir. Marko Škop
Only the Animals, dir. Dominik Koll
Our Lady of the Nile, dir. Atiq Rahimi
The Diary of Diana B, dir. Dana Budisavljević
They Say Nothing Stays the Same, dir. Joe Odagiri
Those Who Remained, dir. Barnabás Tóth
Three Summers, dir. Sandra Kogut

Beware of Children comes from the Norwegian director, Dag J. Haugerud, and was nominated for a Queer Lion at Venice. Reza Mirkarimi ranks among Iranian cinema’s leading directors and his latest film, Castle of Dreams, picked up a Crystal Simorgh at Fajr for Best Screenplay, as well as winning Best Film, Best Director and Best Actor Awards at Shanghai. Slovakian director, Marko Škop, won plaudits for his first film, Eva Nová; Let There Be Light, the follow-up, triumphed at Karlovy Vary this year, scooping both the Ecumenical Jury and Best Actor Awards. Dominik Moll’s thriller, Only the Animals, played in competition at the Venice Film Festival and brings together a star cast including Denis Ménochet, Damien Bonnard and Valeria Bruni Tedeschi. Screening at Toronto, Our Lady of the Nile marks the third feature from Afghan born French author and director, Atiq Rahimi, whose novels ‘The Patience Stone’ and ‘A Curse on Dostoevsky’ have been translated into Turkish. They Say Nothing Stays the Same sees popular Japanese actor, Joe Odagiri, return behind the camera after a 10-year absence; this, his second feature, premiered at Venice and has been widely hailed for the magical camera work of cinematographer, Christopher Doyle. Those Who Remained is Barnabás Tóth’s lyrical adaptation of Zsuzsa F. Várkonyi’s novel, which has been selected as his native Hungary’s official submission for Best Foreign Language Film at the 2020 Academy Awards. And Sandra Kogut’s comedy, Three Summers, screened in the Contemporary World Cinema section at Toronto and stars prominent Brazilian actress, Regina Casé, in the lead.

The remaining two titles in this year’s International Feature Film Competition selection stand out as award-winning debuts. The first is Tunisian director, Mehdi Barsaoui’s A Son, which left this year’s Venice Film Festival with the Horizons Award for Best Actor. The second, The Diary of Diana B, was written and directed by Croatian video artist and documentary filmmaker, Dana Budisavljević. Based on a diary kept during World War II, the docudrama won Best Film and Best Director nods at the Pula Film Festival.

The winners of the International Feature Film Competition will be announced at the Festival’s Closing and Awards Ceremony on November 1.

Show All